From Dammtorbahnhof I went along the tracks Alsterglacis down to the Alster and then along the banks of the Outer Alster along. There is an Italian restaurant and two rowing clubs, most of which are built on the water. Past the US consulate that is called inofficially Little White House at the Alster. The streets around the consulate are not passable and heavy steel columns and high steel fences prevent uninvited guests from reaching the grounds by car. Moreover, it is constantly guarded by several German police officers.

Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

At Mittelweg I passed by the Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law and then at the Garden House Fontenay, where today the Consulate of Egypt is located.

Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law
Garden House Fontenay
Garden House Fontenay

Through the Fontenay, past the still under construction The Fontenay Hotel, which has a wavy shape similar to the Hamburger Welle, I went again direction Alster and continue along the shore to the north.

The Fontenay Hotel
The Fontenay Hotel
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

Many houses in Rotherbaum are extremely beautiful and well maintained. In the Milchstraße is the Villa Beit, which looks almost like a small castle. There are numerous consulates in this district.

I went further south to the Park Moorweide and around the Hotel Grand Elysée Hamburg.

Villa Beit
Villa Beit
Villa Beit
Rotherbaum

In Feldbrunnenstrasse there is an extraordinary building: The Chinese Teahouse Yu Garden with the typical curved roof gables, stone lion statues and round gates. From there in a curve back to the south, past the Museum of Ethnology Hamburg.

Chinese Teahouse Yu Garden
Chinese Teahouse Yu Garden
Chinese Teahouse Yu Garden
Church St. Johannis
Church St. Johannis
Museum of Ethnology Hamburg
Museum of Ethnology Hamburg
Museum of Ethnology Hamburg
Museum of Ethnology Hamburg
Rotherbaum

Then I walked past the main building of the University of Hamburg and across Grindelviertel and the university campus. Past the State and University Library of Hamburg Carl von Ossietzky, past the Von-Melle-Park and the Mensa philosopher's tower.

Main building of the University of Hamburg
Main building of the University of Hamburg
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

Back to the south past the Abaton Cinema and then through Grindelallee, passing the police station 17, the Zoological Museum and the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, my tour ended at the Schlump subway station.

Abaton Kino
Abaton Kino
Karte Rotherbaum

Vom Dammtorbahnhof aus bin ich entlang der Gleise die Alsterglacis hinunter zur Alster gegangen und dann am Ufer der Außenalster entlang. Hier gibt es ein italienisches Restaurant und zwei Ruder-Clubs, die zum Großteil auf dem Wasser gebaut sind. Vorbei am US Konsulat, dass auch das Kleine Weiße Haus an der Alster genannt wird. Rund um das Konsulat sind die Straßen weiträumig nicht befahrbar und schwere Stahlsäulen und hohe Stahlzäune verhindern, dass ungebetene Gäste per Auto aufs Gelände gelangen.. Außerdem wird es ständig von mehreren deutschen Polizisten bewacht.

Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

Am Mittelweg bin ich am Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales Privatrecht vorbeigekommen und anschließend am Gartenhaus Fontenay, in dem heute das Konsulat von Ägypten seinen Sitz hat.

Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches und internationales Privatrecht
Gartenhaus Fontenay
Gartenhaus Fontenay

Durch die Fontenay, vorbei am noch im Bau befindlichen The Fontenay Hotel, das ähnlich wie die Hamburger Welle eine gewellte Form hat, bin ich wieder Richtung Alster gegangen und weiter am Ufer entlang nach Norden.

The Fontenay Hotel
The Fontenay Hotel
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

Viele Häuser in Rotherbaum sind äußerst schön und gut gepflegt. In der Milchstraße steht die Villa Beit, die fast wie ein kleines Schloß aussieht. Es gibt zahlreiche Konsulate in diesem Stadtteil.

Ich bin weiter nach Süden gegangen zum Park Moorweide und um das Hotel Grand Elysée Hamburg herum.

Villa Beit
Villa Beit
Villa Beit
Rotherbaum

In der Feldbrunnenstraße steht ein außergewöhnliches Gebäude: Das Chinesische Teehaus Yu Garden mit den typischen gebogenen Dachgiebeln, steinernen Löwenstatuen und runden Toren. Von da aus in einem Bogen wieder nach Süden, vorbei am Museum für Völkerkunde Hamburg.

Chinesische Teehaus Yu Garden
Chinesische Teehaus Yu Garden
Chinesische Teehaus Yu Garden
Kirche St. Johannis
Kirche St. Johannis
Museum für Völkerkunde Hamburg
Museum für Völkerkunde Hamburg
Museum für Völkerkunde Hamburg
Museum für Völkerkunde Hamburg
Rotherbaum

Anschließend bin ich am Hauptgebäude der Universität Hamburg vorbeigegangen und quer durch Grindelviertel und über das Universitätsgelände. Vorbei an Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Hamburg Carl von Ossietzky, durch den Von-Melle-Park und am Mensa Philosophenturm vorbei.

Hauptgebäude der Universität Hamburg
Hauptgebäude der Universität Hamburg
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum
Rotherbaum

Wieder nach Süden am Abaton Kino vorbei und dann durch Grindelallee, am Polizeikommissariat 17 vorbei, am Zoologischen Museum und am Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie vorbei endete meine Tour an der U-Bahn-Station Schlump.

Abaton Kino
Abaton Kino
Karte Rotherbaum