From the main station I went south to the Deichtorplatz, past the Deichtorhallen to the Oberhafen and then to the southeast. Directly at the Oberhafen is the Fruchthof, here begins the district Hammerbrook.

Hauptbahnhof
Construction site
View to the Michel
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Spiegel building
Oberhafen
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Brücke am Oberhafen
Oberhafen
Oberhafen

I walked along the water and looked at the floodgate between Oberhafen and Schleusenkanal. Unfortunately I could see it only from a distance, because some smartass came up with the great idea to transform the information sign and the best place for a photo into a fenced-in commercial area. I followed the water for a while, until I realized that the huge trading area where only fruit was traded and blocked my way to Hammerbrook, extended to Bille. So I had to turn around and wander it from the other side.

Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Brückenschmuck am Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Commercial property at Oberhafen
Hammerbrook has predominantly commercial and industrial sites: a large fruit trade at the Oberhafen, only very few apartments, but old factory buildings and large warehouses.

I went down the Amsinckstraße, where on one side only huge glass buildings and on the other side the fruit trade was located. On the Süderstraße I went into the huge industrial area, and followed the road Grüner Deich to the flood basin followed. In Hammerbrook many major insurance companies, banks, car dealerships or trading companies have their headquarters.

The city is crossed by several train tracks, both the S-Bahn from the main station to the south, as well as the tracks of the Deutsche Bahn. The tracks run at height on bridges over the city.

Train tracks above Hammerbrook
Commercial properties in Hammerbrook
Commercial properties in Hammerbrook
Commercial properties in Hammerbrook

There are hardly any houses in Hammerbrook, just over 2,000 people live in the large district, most of the houses are in very poor condition and offer little desirable living space.

Commercial properties in Hammerbrook
Residential properties in Hammerbrook

From the bridges over the Hochwasserbassin you have a fantastic view of the Berliner Bogen. Further to the east of Hammerbrook are companies like Stadtreinigung and SVG-Hamburg Straßenverkehrsgenossenschaft. There is also an event location, which is located in an old warehouse and can be booked for fashion shoots or the like. If you want to register your car or need a license plate, you will also have to drive to this part of Hammerbrook. Around the registration office all sorts of car dealerships, TÜV Hanse, shops for signs or rapid approvals have settled.

Warehouses and event location
Graffiti
View of the Berliner Bogen
View of the Berliner Bogen
Canals in Hammerbrook
Canals in Hammerbrook
Canals in Hammerbrook
Canals in Hammerbrook
Canals in Hammerbrook
Hamburger Stadtreinigung
Numerous car dealerships and registration offices

I went to the northeastern part of Hammerbrook via the south channel. Here is the Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik, which sits in parts in a beautiful old brick building with ornate decorations. At the entrance of the school is a huge robot made of pieces of scrap metal.

Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik
Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik
Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik

I walked the Wendenstraße westwards, on one side of which Hammerbrook lies and on the other side Borgfelde. This road I have already partially gone on my tour of Borgfelde along.

On the bank of the Victoriakais (to be seen well from the Wendenbrücke) several floating houses (Floating Homes) are anchored. Here you can visit the different models before buying such a house.

Floating houses at the Victoriakai
Floating houses at the Victoriakai
Kai 10
Kai 10
Canals in Hammerbrook

Over the Heidenkampsweg, which one drives along, if one wants to leave Hamburg over the landing bridges or wants to enter I went further west, past the rapid-transit railway station Hammerbrook and then over the middle channel to the north. A modern office building joins the other one here.

Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
Office building in Hammerbrook
A variety of insurance companies have their headquarters in Hammerbrook.
Construction site in Hammerbrook

I walked down the Nagelsweg to the middle channel, where Circus Roncalli had set up camp in a huge square. On the banks of the central canal was Kai 10, a floating event location for meetings and celebrations at anchor, a big party was in progress.

Circus Roncalli
Kai 10

I went up the Högerdamm, on the left side countless sidings of the main station and a design hotel, on the right side of some of the few, very beautiful, old houses that have survived the bombing. The proximity to the train station unfortunately reduces the condition of the houses, which are not well maintained. I walked under the Nordkanalbrücke along Repsoldstraße and Rosenallee, where there are more old, beautiful houses.

Older houses in Hammerbrook
A few houses have survived the bombing of Hammerbrook.
Design Hotel
Older houses in Hammerbrook
Car bridge
Car bridge

From there through Spaldingstraße and Nordkanalstraße to the east. Again, one office building after another, some hotels that benefit from their proximity to the station. In addition, a large skateboard system with hall and numerous ramps in the Spaldingstraße.

Older buildings in Hammerbrook
Older buildings in Hammerbrook
Older buildings in Hammerbrook
City mission Hamburg
Older buildings in Hammerbrook
Older buildings in Hammerbrook
pedestrian tunnel
Car bridge
Commercial building in Hammerbrook

My tour ended on the Ankelmannsplatz, directly at the S and U Bahn station Berliner Tor, where also the modern glass building Berliner Bogen stands, which with 14,000 square meters glass area largest glass building in Europe.

Berliner Bogen
The glass building Berliner Bogen, with 14,000 square meters of glass, the largest glass building in Europe.
Berliner Bogen
Berliner Bogen
Hammerbrook

Vom Hauptbahnhof aus bin ich nach Süden zum Deichtorplatz gegangen, vorbei an den Deichtorhallen bis zum Oberhafen und dann nach Südosten. Direkt am Oberhafen steht der Fruchthof, hier beginnt auch der Stadtteil Hammerbrook.

Hauptbahnhof
Baustelle
Blick auf den Michel
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Deichtorhallen
Spiegel-Gebäude
Oberhafen
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Fruchhof Hamburg
Brücke am Oberhafen
Oberhafen
Oberhafen

Ich bin am Wasser entlang gegangen und habe mir die Schleuse zwischen Oberhafen und Schleusenkanal angesehen. Leider nur aus der Ferne, da irgendein Schlaumeier auf die tolle Idee kam, das Informationsschild und den besten Platz für ein Foto zu einem eingezäunten Gewerbegelände umzufunktionieren. Ich bin eine Weile dem Wasser gefolgt, bis ich einsehen musste, dass das riesige Gewerbegelände, auf dem ausschließlich Früchte gehandelt werden und das mir den Weg nach Hammerbrook hinein versperrte, sich bis zur Bille erstreckte. Also musste ich umkehren und es von der anderen Seite umwandern.

Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Brückenschmuck am Schleusenkanal
Schleusenkanal
Gewerbegelände am Oberhafen
Hammerbrook hat überwiegend Gewerbe- und Industriegelände: einen großen Fruchhandel am Oberhafen, nur sehr wenig Wohnungen, dafür alte Fabrikgebäude und große Lagerhallen.

Ich bin die Amsinckstraße hinunter gegangen, wo sich auf der einen Seite ausschließlich riesige Glasbauten und auf der anderen Seite der Obsthandel befand. Über die Süderstraße bin ich in das riesige Gewerbegebiet hinein gegangen, und der Straße Grüner Deich bis zum Hochwasserbassin gefolgt. In Hammerbrook haben viele große Versicherungen, Banken, Autohäuser oder Handelsunternehmen ihre Zentralen.

Die Stadt wird von mehreren Bahngleisen durchzogen, sowohl die S-Bahn vom Hauptbahnhof aus nach Süden, als auch die Gleise der Deutschen Bahn. Die Gleise verlaufen in der Höhe auf Brücken über der Stadt.

Bahngleise über Hammerbrook
Gewerbe in Hammerbrook
Gewerbe in Hammerbrook
Gewerbe in Hammerbrook

Wohnhäuser gibt es kaum in Hammerbrook, es wohnen gerade einmal knapp über 2000 Menschen in dem großen Stadtteil, die meisten Häuser sind in sehr schlechtem Zustand und bieten wenig erstrebenswerten Wohnraum.

Gewerbe in Hammerbrook
Wohnraum in Hammerbrook

Von den Brücken über das Hochwasserbassin aus hat man einen fantastischen Blick auf den Berliner Bogen. Weiter im Osten von Hammerbrook sitzen Unternehmen wie die Stadtreinigung und die SVG-Hamburg Straßenverkehrsgenossenschaft. Hier gibt es auch eine Event-Location, die in einer alten Lagerhalle ihren Sitz hat und für Modeshootings oder ähnliches gebucht werden kann. Wer sein Auto zulassen möchte oder ein Kennzeichen braucht, wird ebenfalls in diesen Teil von Hammerbrook fahren müssen. Rund um die Zulassungsstelle haben sich allerlei Autohäuser, TÜV Hanse, Geschäfte für Schilder oder Schnellzulassungen angesiedelt.

Lagerhallen und Event-Location
Graffiti
Blick auf den Berliner Bogen
Blick auf den Berliner Bogen
Kanäle in Hammerbrook
Kanäle in Hammerbrook
Kanäle in Hammerbrook
Kanäle in Hammerbrook
Kanäle in Hammerbrook
Hamburger Stadtreinigung
Zahlreiche Autohäuser und Zulassungsstellen

Über den Südkanal bin ich in den nordöstlichen Teil von Hammerbrook gegangen. Hier gibt es die Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik, die zu Teilen in einem schönen alten Backsteinbau mit kunstvollen Verzierungen sitzt. Am Eingang der Schule steht ein riesiger aus Schrotteilen gebauter Roboter.

Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik
Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik
Berufliche Schule Recycling- und Umwelttechnik

Ich bin die Wendenstraße entlang nach Westen gegangen, auf deren einer Seite Hammerbrook liegt und auf der anderen Seite Borgfelde. Diese Straße bin ich schon teilweise bei meiner Tour durch Borgfelde entlang gegangen.

Am Ufer des Victoriakais (gut von der Wendenbrücke aus zu sehen) liegen mehrere schwimmende Häuser (Floating Homes) vor Anker. Hier kann man vor dem Kauf eines solchen Hauses die verschiedenen Modelle besichtigen.

Schwimmende Häuser am Victoriakai
Schwimmende Häuser am Victoriakai
Kai 10
Kai 10
Kanäle in Hammerbrook

Über den Heidenkampsweg, den man entlangfährt, wenn man Hamburg über die Landungsbrücken verlassen oder betreten will bin ich weiter nach Westen gegangen, vorbei an der S-Bahnstation Hammerbrook und dann über den Mittelkanal nach Norden. Ein modernes Bürogebäude reiht sich hier an das andere.

Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Bürogebäude in Hammerbrook
Eine Vielzahl von Versicherungen hat ihre Zentralen in Hammerbrook.
Baustelle in Hammerbrook

Den Nagelsweg hinunter zum Mittelkanal, wo Circus Roncalli auf einem riesigen Platz ihre Lager aufgeschlagen hatte. Am Ufer des Mittelkanals lag der Kai 10, eine schwimmende Event-Location für Tagungen und Feiern vor Anker, ein großes Fest war gerade im Gange.

Circus Roncalli
Kai 10

Ich bin den Högerdamm hinauf gegangen, auf der linken Seite zahllose Abstellgleise des Hauptbahnhofs und ein Design-Hotel, auf der rechten Seite einige der wenigen, sehr schönen, alten Häuser, die den Bombenangriff überstanden haben. Die Nähe zum Bahnhof schmälert leider den Zustand der Häuser, die wenig gepflegt sind. Ich bin unter der Nordkanalbrücke entlang gegangen, durch Repsoldstraße und Rosenallee, wo weitere alte, schöne Häuser stehen.

Ältere Häuser in Hammerbrook
Einige wenige Häuser haben den Bombenangriff auf Hammerbrook überstanden.
Design-Hotel
Ältere Häuser in Hammerbrook
Auto-Überführung
Auto-Überführung

Von da aus durch Spaldingstraße und Nordkanalstraße nach Osten. Auch hier wieder ein Bürogebäude nach dem anderen, einige Hotels, die von ihrer Nähe zum Bahnhof profitieren. Außerdem eine große Skateboard-Anlage mit Halle und zahlreichen Rampen in der Spaldingstraße.

Ältere Gebäude in Hammerbrook
Ältere Gebäude in Hammerbrook
Ältere Gebäude in Hammerbrook
Stadtmission Hamburg
Ältere Gebäude in Hammerbrook
Ältere Gebäude in Hammerbrook
Fußgängertunnel
Auto-Überführung
Gewerbegebäude in Hammerbrook

Meine Tour endete auf dem Ankelmannsplatz, direkt bei der S- und U-Bahnstation Berliner Tor, wo auch das moderne Glasgebäude Berliner Bogen steht, das mit 14.000 Quadratmetern Glasfläche größte Glasgebäude in Europa.

Berliner Bogen
Das Glasgebäude Berliner Bogen, mit 14.000 Quadratmetern Glasfläche das größte Glasgebäude in Europa.
Berliner Bogen
Berliner Bogen
Hammerbrook