Borgfelde is one of the smallest districts in Hamburg. I started my tour at the subway station Burgstraße and went first through the upper Borgfelde.

Building in Borgfelde
Church in Borgfelde

Borgfelde is divided into upper and lower Borgfelde. The wealthy citizens used to live in beautiful houses on the hillside, and the workers lived in the lower Borgfelde. In between there is a steep slope called Geesthang.

Park at Geethang

Since large parts of Borgfelde have fallen victim to the bombs, there are hardly any older houses, mostly 4-5 storey buildings of the postwar period. In the upper Borgfelde in front of the Geesthang there is a long park in which the sculpture Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde by Klaus Becker stands. There are a number of benches along the park path, but the noise of Borgfelder Straße makes it no pleasure to sit here.

Park at Geesthang
Sculpture "Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde" by Klaus Becker
Scuplture Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde by Klaus Becker

On the wall of the Erlöserkirche in the Jungestraße there is the war victims memorial of Hans Kock.

Erlöserkirche
Erlöserkirche
War Victim Memorial by Hans Kock
War Victim Memorial by Hans Kock

After walking through the streets of upper Borgfelde I descended via the only stone staircase on Geesthang to the lower part of the district. There are hardly any residential buildings left, but mostly commercial ones: many car dealerships, banks, office buildings, several schools, some offices and city buildings and the HCAT (Hamburg Center of Aviation Training).

Borgfelde
Borgfelde
Borgfelde
The stairs from the upper Borgfelde in the lower Borgfelde
The stairs from the upper Borgfelde in the lower Borgfelde
Unten Borgfelde and the Geesthang
HCAT (Hamburg Centre of Aviation Training)
Unten Borgfelde
Unten Borgfelde

I walked down the Anckelmannstraße and then along the Eiffelstraße and then over the central canal and through the Wendenstraße. Several people have fished on the shore in front of the Education and Training Center.

Central chanel in Borgfelde
Central chanel in Borgfelde
Central chanel in Borgfelde
Central canal in Borgfelde
Canal in Borgfelde
Central canal in Borgfelde

The lower Borgfelde is dead in the evening, except for a few songs from a building near the canal was no trace of people to find. I passed a Muslim center and a few orphaned commercial estates, searching in vain for tenants.

Commercial areas in Unten Borgelde
Commercial areas in Unten Borgelde
Commercial areas in Unten Borgelde
Commercial areas in Unten Borgelde

Directly close to the S-Bahn and U-Bahn station Berliner Tor there is a park and there is a round bunker from the war. It is not nice here, but the noise of the cars that drive from the Elbbrücken to Hamburg and the numerous dirt and garbage only make sure that you only want to leave the park quickly. At the subway Berliner Tor ended my tour of Borgfelde.

Near the Berlin gate
Park with round bunker near the U-Bahn and S-Bahn station Berliner Tor
Park with round bunker near the U-Bahn and S-Bahn station Berliner Tor
Park near the U-Bahn and S-Bahn station Berliner Tor
Park near the U-Bahn and S-Bahn station Berliner Tor
Borgfelde

Borgfelde ist einer der kleinsten Stadtteile Hamburgs. Meine Tour habe ich an der U-Bahn-Station Burgstraße begonnen und bin zuerst durch das obere Borgfelde gegangen.

Gebäude in Borgfelde
Kirche in Borgfelde

Borgfelde ist geteilt in oberes und unteres Borgfelde. Früher lebten die reichen Bürger in schönen Häusern auf dem Hang und im unteren Borgfelde lebten die Arbeiter. Dazwischen befindet sich ein steiler Abhang, der Geesthang heißt.

Park am Geethang

Da große Teile von Borgfelde den Bomben zum Opfer gefallen sind, gibt es kaum ältere Häuser, meist 4-5 stöckiger Bau der Nachkriegszeit. Im oberen Borgfelde vor dem Geesthang gibt es einen langen Park, in dem die Plastik Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde von Klaus Becker steht. Eine Reihe von Bänken stehen entlang des Parkwegs, doch ist es durch den Lärm der Borgfelder Straße keine Freude hier zu sitzen.

Park am Geesthang
Plastik "Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde" von Klaus Becker
Plastik Drei Vogelsäulen für Borgfelde von Klaus Becker

An der Wand der Erlöserkirche in der Jungestraße gibt es das Kriegsopfermahnmal von Hans Kock.

Erlöserkirche
Erlöserkirche
Kriegsopfermahnmal von Hans Kock
Kriegsopfermahnmal von Hans Kock

Nachdem ich durch die Straßen des oberen Borgfelde gegangen war, bin ich über die einzige Steintreppe am Geesthang in den unteren Teil des Stadtteils hinabgestiegen. Hier gibt es kaum noch Wohnhäuser, sondern überwiegend Gewerbe: viele Autohäuser, Banken, Bürogebäude, mehrere Schulen, einige Ämter und städtische Gebäude und das HCAT (Hamburg Centre of Aviation Training).

Borgfelde
Borgfelde
Borgfelde
Die Treppe vom oberen Borgfelde in das untere Borgfelde
Die Treppe vom oberen Borgfelde in das untere Borgfelde
Unten Borgfelde und der Geesthang
HCAT (Hamburg Centre of Aviation Training)
Unten Borgfelde
Unten Borgfelde

Ich bin die Anckelmannstraße hinunter gegangen und dann die Eiffelstraße entlang und dann über den Mittelkanal und durch die Wendenstraße. Am Ufer vor dem Zentrum für Aus- und Fortbildung haben mehrere Personen geangelt.

Mittelkanal in Borgfelde
Mittelkanal in Borgfelde
Mittelkanal in Borgfelde
Kanal in Borgfelde
Kanal in Borgfelde
Mittelkanal in Borgfelde

Das untere Borgfelde ist am Abend wie ausgestorben, bis auf ein paar Gesänge aus einem Gebäude in der Nähe des Kanals war keine Spur von Menschen zu finden. Ich bin an einem muslimischen Zentrum vorbeigekommen und an ein paar verwaisten Gewerbegeländen, die vergeblich nach Mietern suchen.

Gewerbegebiete in Unten Borgelde
Gewerbegebiete in Unten Borgelde
Gewerbegebiete in Unten Borgelde
Gewerbegebiete in Unten Borgelde

Direkt in der Nähe zum S- und U-Bahnhof Berliner Tor gibt es einen Park und dort steht ein Rundbunker aus dem Krieg. Schön ist es hier aber nicht, der Lärm der Autos, die von den Elbbrücken nach Hamburg einfahren und der zahlreiche Dreck und Müll sorgen nur dafür, dass man den Park nur wieder schnell verlassen möchte. Am U-Bahnhof Berliner Tor endete meine Tour durch Borgfelde.

Nahe des Berliner Tors
Park mit Rundbunker in der Nähe des U- und S-Bahnhofs Berliner Tor
Park mit Rundbunker in der Nähe des U- und S-Bahnhofs Berliner Tor
Park in der Nähe des U- und S-Bahnhofs Berliner Tor
U- und S-Bahn-Station Berliner Tor
Borgfelde