From Barmbek Station, where a round bunker from World War II is, I went behind Globetrotter and the Museum of Labor over to the Osterbekkanal.

Round bunker from World War II
Globetrotter
Museum of Labor
brick building

On the courtyard of the museum stands the T.R.U.D.E., the boring head of the Elbtunnel drill, which drilled the 4th Elbtunnel tube. It has an impressive 14.2 meters in diameter, weighs 380 tons and was in use from October 1997 to March 2000.

Tunnel boring machine T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnel boring machine T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnel boring machine T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnel boring machine T.R.U.D.E.

I continued to walk along the canal and then looked at the residential areas south of the tracks. As everywhere in Barmbek-Nord, everything is built in red brick, in parts really pretty and in a variety of reds and patterns, so that no uniformity arises.

Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord
Apartments in Barmbek-Nord

Then I went under the tracks and through the Drosselgasse, where heavy constructions are in progress right in front of the station. The entire area is to be rebuilt and should upgrade Barmbek-North. In addition to a huge shopping center and commercial buildings there are also condominiums.

Construction site

I went south, passed under the tracks, and moved along by CrossFit HH, where a group of muscle-bound men came back from a running race and turned on the studios property. I guess that was the warm-up.

Graffiti

Then I went through the residential areas east of the Bramfelder Straße and through a small garden club behind the former Margarine Factory Voss, where now Techniker Krankenkasse sits.

Former margarine factory Voss
Former margarine factory Voss
Former margarine factory Voss
Former margarine factory Voss

Down the Bramfelder Straße, north to Hellbrookstraße and back south to the Drosselstraße. I continued through the residential areas and under the tracks in the north, past Jim Block Barmbek. There are a lot of shops on Fuhlsbüttler Straße.

Underground station Habichtstraße
Commercial building
Barmbeker-Ring-Brücke
Crossing
School with pretty doors
School with pretty doors

Continue east, then north to a large park. Every now and then to the south and north and past the Bürgerhaus Barmbek, where the columns and railings of a building are completely covered with knitted patterns.

Bürgerhaus Barmbek
Columns and railings decorated with knitted patterns.

At the Barmbeker-Ring-Brücke, where several streets intersect, I walked west, then passed the district school Barmbek to the north.

South of the Asklepios Kliniken and west of the Wasserturm Palais is a really nice residential area, extremely quiet with classical, listed buildings. But if you want to live there, you have to dig deep into your pocket (5 rooms, 2 bathrooms, 160m² for about 2,500 € per month).

Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
residential area
residential area
residential area
residential area

West of the clinic is the S-Bahn station Rübenkamp, where I finished my tour.

Asklepios Kliniken
S-Bahn station Rübenkamp
Barmbek-Nord

Vom Bahnhof Barmbek, wo ein Rundbunker aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg steht, bin ich hinter Globetrotter und am Museum der Arbeit vorbei bis zum Osterbekkanal gegangen.

Rundbunker aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg
Globetrotter
Museum der Arbeit
Backsteinbau

Auf dem Hof des Museums steht die T.R.U.D.E., der Bohrkopf des Elbtunnelbohrers, der die 4. Elbtunnelröhre gebohrt hat. Er hat beeindruckende 14,2 Meter im Durchmesser, wiegt 380 Tonnen und war von Oktober 1997 bis März 2000 im Einsatz.

Tunnelbohrer T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnelbohrer T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnelbohrer T.R.U.D.E.
Tunnelbohrer T.R.U.D.E.

Ich bin weiter am Kanal entlang gegangen und habe mir dann die Wohngebiete südlich der Gleise angesehen. Wie überall in Barmbek-Nord ist alles in roten Backstein gebaut, z. T. wirklich sehr hübsch und auch in verschiedensten Rottönen und Mustern, so dass kein Einheitsbrei entsteht.

Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord
Wohnungen in Barmbek-Nord

Dann bin ich unter den Gleisen hindurchgegangen und durch die Drosselgasse, wo direkt vor dem Bahnhof kräftig gebaut wird. Der komplette Bereich soll umgebaut werden und Barmbek-Nord aufwerten. Neben einem riesigen Einkaufszentrum und Gewerbegebäude entstehen dort auch Eigentumswohnungen.

Baustelle

Ich bin nach Süden gegangen, wieder unter den Gleisen hindurch und am Gelände von CrossFit HH vorbeigekommen, wo mir auch gleich eine Gruppe von muskelbepackten Männern im Dauerlauf entgegen kam um auf das Gelände ein zu biegen. Ich schätze mal, das war das Aufwärmen.

Graffiti

Dann bin ich durch die Wohngebiete östlich der Bramfelder Straße gegangen und durch einen Kleingartenverein hinter der ehemaligen Margarine-Fabrik Voss, wo jetzt die Techniker Krankenkasse sitzt.

Ehemalige Margarinefabrik Voss
Ehemalige Margarinefabrik Voss
Ehemalige Margarinefabrik Voss
Ehemalige Margarinefabrik Voss

Die Bramfelder Straße hinunter, nach Norden zur Hellbrookstraße und wieder nach Süden zur Drosselstraße. Weiter durch die Wohngebiete und unter den Gleisen im Norden, am Jim Block Barmbek vorbei. Auf der Fuhlsbüttler Straße gibt es eine Menge Geschäfte.

U-Bahn-Station Habichtstraße
Gewerbegebäude
Barmbeker-Ring-Brücke
Kreuzung
Schule mit hübschen Türen
Schule mit hübschen Türen

Weiter nach Osten, dann nach Norden bis zu einem großen Park. Immer mal wieder nach Süden und Norden und am Bürgerhaus Barmbek vorbei, wo die Säulen und Geländer eines Gebäudes völlig mit Strickmustern zugedeckt sind.

Das Bürgerhaus Barmbek
Säulen und Geländer mit Strickmustern verziert.

An der Barmbeker-Ring-Brücke, wo sich mehrere Straßen kreuzen bin ich nach Westen gegangen, dann nach Norden an der Stadtteilschule Barmbek vorbei.

Südlich der Asklepios Kliniken und westlich des Wasserturm Palais befindet sich ein wirklich schönes Wohngebiet, äußerst ruhig mit klassischen, denkmalgeschützten Gebäuden. Wer dort Wohnen möchte, muss aber tief in die Tasche greifen (5 Zimmer, 2 Bäder, 160m² für ungefähr 2.500 € im Monat).

Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
Wasserturm Palais
Wohngebiet
Wohngebiet
Wohngebiet
Wohngebiet

Westlich der Klinik befindet sich die S-Bahn-Station Rübenkamp, wo ich meine Tour beendet habe.

Asklepios Kliniken
S-Bahn-Station Rübenkamp
Barmbek-Nord